Quotes for the frustrated

A mother wants all of life to be painless for her child. This is not a realistic goal, however. Deprivation and frustration are as much a part of life as gratification. It is some balance between these that a mother is looking for. To take the next step is always painful in part. It means relinquishing gratification on some level. If one is totally gratified where one is, why move ahead? If one is totally frustrated, why bother?
– Elaine Heffner

Every life and every childhood is filled with frustrations; we cannot imagine it otherwise, for even the best mother cannot satisfy all her child’s wishes and needs. It is not the suffering caused by frustration, however, that leads to emotional illness, but rather the fact that the child is forbidden by the parents to experience and articulate this suffering, the pain felt at being wounded.
– Alice Miller

2 thoughts on “Quotes for the frustrated

  1. This topic is quite hot on the Internet at the moment. What do you pay the most attention to when choosing what to write about?

    • Hmmm..I dont think I choose what I will write about, I think that my topics choose me! Or rather, they seem to jump out at me when I sit down to type. For some people choosing what to write can cause them to be blocked. There are so many topics and plots and story lines to choose from. How could I possibly pick just one! I don’t; I write about whatever strikes me at the moment. The thing is to learn enough discipline to finish a project once started. If I am not careful, I can bounce around from project to project and never complete one. Its a struggle! lol. For instance, I currently have 5 different stories in different stages of completion, from being in the plotting stage to being 2/3rds of the way fininshed. I guess the most important thing is to figure out a way of working that suits you and then the ideas will flow!

Leave a Reply

