Genres

 

 

Genres

I would have to say that my favorite genres to read or write would be either Historical, Fantasy, or Romance. I love to read or write Historicals, because I am a complete history nut and love anything remotely connected to history.

My favorite periods in history would be Medieval, The Civil War and World Wars I and II. Some of my favorite books in this genre are: Gone With The Wind, The Pillar Of Fire (Judith Tarr), and Eagle’s Cry (David Nevin). I love to write historical because I enjoy the research and learning involved in the plotting.

Fantasy is another favorite genre of mine because it allows me to escape day-to-day pressures and totally immerse myself in a completely fictionalized world. My favorite fantasy authors are J.R. Tolkien, C.S. Lewis, Piers Anthony and Terry Pratchett. Terry Pratchett’s Disc world Novels are hilarious and an excellent addition to the classic works of Tolkien and Lewis. I enjoy writing fantasy for the same reasons I enjoy reading it. It is good light-hearted fun and removes me from the stress that daily life can bring.

Romance is another genre I enjoy reading. It is not my favorite and I try not to write too much romance, but I like to read a sweet ending story every now and then. My favorite Romance author’s would be Danielle Steel, Catherine Coulter and Victoria Holt.

There are not too many genres that I don’t like or don’t read. I am an avid reader who has been known to read the mustard bottle on the table, simply because it was there. However, my least favorites are Erotica and Science Fiction. I never write these genres, though I have in a moment of desperation, because I have nothing else, read Science Fiction. My husband is a huge Science Fiction fan, so there are always books from that genre in the house.

If I pick up a book in the Erotica genre by accident, I will finish reading it. I just skip over some of the more detailed portions that I do not care to read. I can never start a story and not finish it. I have to know how it ends.

Just as in reading and writing, I usually pick movies in the same genres. I am enthralled by the Showtime series, The Tudors. I also watch the history channel and the discovery channel.

There are many genres and subgenres to choose from today. I have only touched on a few of them. So, what genres do you enjoy?

 

4 thoughts on “Genres

  1. I like the genres that aren’t immediately identifiable. I like fantasy, but the first sign of an elf or dwarf will usually turn me off, and I don’t finish books if I don’t care for them. Some sci-fi I enjoy– Jon Armstrong wrote a sci-fi world that was barely identifiable as part of the genre in his novel ‘Grey’ (not a spaceship in sight). I suppose if you need to characterize my tastes, get me something new, and get me something well-written.

  2. Like you i’m a historical lover. Currently reading The Witch of Cologne (it’s not bad, not great). But unlike you I can put a book down unfinished and do so often. My motto is that there are too many books to read to be stuck in a dull one. Try it once you might find it liberating to just walk away, a free spirit.

  3. I like genres that mix at least a couple of things. Obviously when you mix mystery and romance, but then throw in some comedy as well, such as you get from Janet Evanovich or Charlotte Hughes.

Leave a Reply

