Ballroom Dance Lessons

Ballroom Dance Lessons

Let me guess, your read these words and pictured elderly couples shuffling around the room in an ancient form of the Foxtrot. Well, I did too, and I was so wrong! 

Picture this: Christmas morning. The kids are through opening their presents and my loving husband hands me an envelope, his face covered in a huge smile. I am thinking, “This is my present? I asked for diamonds!”

I open the envelope and find a gift certificate to the Gotta Dance Ballroom Studio. Ten couples dance lessons. Am I excited? Actually, yes. I smile back at my expectant husband.

“Do you like it?” He asks.

“Yes, I love it!”

What a romantic and thoughtful present: guaranteed, quality time alone with my husband. With our busy schedules, we don’t get time together often.

So, we call and schedule our first lesson. What fun! What a workout! Honestly, we have only had five of our lessons and I have already lost several pounds. Also, since my dear hubby purchased private lessons, we are allowed to go to any of the nightly group lessons, for free. The group lessons are a great opportunity to meet other couples in our town. You can never have too many friends!

One more really cool thing about the lessons and dance nights, they have provided me the perfect opportunity to purchase new clothes! I have even wrangled two new pair of ballroom dance shoes out of the deal. Ballroom dance lessons: the gift that keeps on giving! Who knew?

Ballroom dance shoes are the most comfortable high-heeled shoes I have ever worn. Why can’t shoe manufacturers make regular high-heeled shoes as comfortable? Is it some kind of conspiracy? Let us keep women’s shoes as uncomfortable as we can! It can be a slow form of torture. I would wear my ballroom shoes all the time, if the soles would hold up!

So, ladies, don’t let your husband get out of those dance lessons that you have been itching to take. Remember, it is a great form of exercise. Also, its a great way to meet new people or to spend quality time with your spouse. Then there is the added bonus of new outfits and shoes for you! It is a win/win situation! 1,2, cha, cha, cha!

3 thoughts on “Ballroom Dance Lessons

  1. That is an absolutely fabulous gift! I would love to be able to convince my husband into taking dance lessons. I was able to convice him to learn one dance for our wedding…but that was about it. What’s your secret? 🙂

  2. I am very lucky! My husband is very sweet. Also, he is an actor and loves to be center stage, so dancing helps feed that need! LOL!

  3. Hmm… I’ve always wanted to learn how to ballroom dance. I’ve never really associated it with old people, if only because I know it actually takes fairly intense physical ability to do really well.
    Unfortunately, I’m a big klutzy guy, about as graceful on my feet as an average hippopotamus (the real ones, that wallow in mud all day, not the ones from Fantasia who wear tutus and flirt with alligators in capes).

Leave a Reply

